MDB Insight Blog

Canadian Tourism Awards


Canada’s tourism sector has been impacted by the pandemic like no other. With the resiliency and resolve of our regional tourism operators, this sector will once again evolve from surviving to thriving. We understand the integral role this sector has on communities and their overall economic and workforce development.

It is important to acknowledge the challenges and successes felt by every tourism destination in 2021. MDB Insight applauds the TIAC Canadian Tourism Awards in opening nominations for any Canadian tourism-related product, business, initiative, or service that occurred from June 1, 2019 to July 31, 2021 is eligible.  Nominations are now open – and close on September 7th, 2021.

The Canadian Tourism Awards are presented annually by TIAC to recognize success, leadership, and innovation in Canada's tourism industry, and to reward those people, places, organizations, and events that have gone above and beyond to offer travellers superior tourism experiences in Canada.

This year, the Tourism Industry Association of Canada's 2021 Canadian Tourism Awards are scheduled for December 1st, which will be a salute to the perseverance, resilience, and fortitude of the sector; its operators, and employees.

We encourage all of communities to nominate tourism operators within and beyond their regional boundaries in celebration of their resiliency.

2021 Canadian Tourism Awards Categories

This year the Canadian Tourism Awards will be presented in 4 categories.

  1. Air Canada Business Excellence Award
  2. Indigenous Tourism Award
  3. Sustainable Tourism Award
  4. Tourism Employee Appreciation Award

Category & Description

  1. Air Canada Business Excellence Award

The Business Excellence Award will be presented to a tourism business that exemplifies industry best practices in all aspects of its operations and is thus an example of all-round business excellence in the tourism industry.

The judging criteria in this category are:

  • Overall strength & long-term viability of the business/business model/strategy (20%)
  • Commitment to visitor/participant/spectator satisfaction (20%)
  • Commitment to growth, innovation, and product development (20%)
  • Contribution to or enhancement of the tourism industry (20%)
  • Commitment to human resources development (20%)
  1. Indigenous Tourism Award

The Indigenous Tourism Award will recognize an Indigenous tourism business that has demonstrated a commitment to the development, promotion, and delivery of an authentic, innovative, and enriched Indigenous tourism visitor experience. The recipient will have demonstrated a commitment to authentic Indigenous cultural tourism as a key aspect of encouraging and promoting tourism growth in their region.

The judging criteria in this category are:

  • Commitment to visitor satisfaction through delivery of quality and authentic market ready experiences as outlined in ATAC’s National Guidelines (20%)
  • Stimulation of tourism employment and economic activity in the host Aboriginal community (20%)
  • Social/cultural impact in the community through the demonstrated promotion and advancement of Aboriginal culture (20%)
  • Demonstrates innovation in the development and delivery of the experience (20%)
  • Commitment to cultural sustainability (20%)
  1. Sustainable Tourism Award

The Sustainable Tourism Award will be presented to an organization that has made an outstanding contribution to the practice and promotion of responsible and sustainable tourism in Canada.

The judging criteria in this category are:

  • Protects and preserves natural and cultural heritage resources (20%)
  • Fosters appreciation and enjoyment of natural and cultural heritage resources (20%)
  • Raises awareness among visitors and influences them to enjoy resources sustainably (20%)
  • Mitigates negative impacts of tourism on the natural and cultural environment (20%)
  • Respects, involves, and engages other stakeholders and host communities (20%)
  1. Tourism Employee Appreciation Award

The Tourism Employee Appreciation Award will be presented to the front-line employee whose professionalism, dedication, attitude, and quality of service best exemplify excellence in the tourism industry.

Owner/operators and senior management personnel are generally not eligible for this award.

The judging criteria in this category are:

  • Attitude and dedication (20%)
  • Leadership, cooperation, and teamwork (20%)
  • Maintains exemplary work standards (20%)
  • Goes above and beyond to improve his/her organization (20%)
  • Commitment to visitor/participant/spectator satisfaction (20%)


  • Nominations close September 7th
  • Finalists announced October 1st
  • Awards Ceremony December 1st

For details on the awards and nominations process:

MDB Insight works with tourism operators and destinations from coast to coast to coast. We understand first-hand the unique challenges and opportunities for this sector as a key economic driver. If you’d like to learn more about how our tourism team can help your region get back on the road to recovery and regeneration, then let’s talk.  

Contact: Clark Hoskin at

Find out more about our Tourism Development solutions.

Related Posts